“Finding My Happy Space!”

Hi Scrappers,

I am having a lovely weekend off. I am unable to visit dad at the moment as he has had the flu all week and not allowed visitors. It is Winter here in Australia and pretty cold………….     I have had a damn sore throat and an annoying cough which I can’t seem to shake. Going to GP tomorrow for my weight loss check up. Cody came around yesterday for a while and had dinner. Today I am just chilling after a busy week of work and a few days of re-arranging my scrap space. 🙂

Yep, I know I am crazy, but if it’s not working for me, then I have to do something about it.  It also gives me a chance to see what I have and get rid of stuff if not needed.  I have been using my stash all year and I have not bought one new scrap item.

Having my scrap space in the dining room wasn’t working as I need my kitchen table and it was a bit crowded. I am back in the lounge down the end nearest the front door and I think I have worked out the best set up for me.

 

window

As you come in the front door my main desk is on the left side next to the large window. I have put one of my ColCraft units on my desk, which holds wood stamp storage boxes with pens, small inks, my SU punches, distress inks, tags, ink refills, watercolour tools etc.  The cube underneath holds my bin, some more stamps and dies, embossing folders and my small embossing machine. My large electric Ebosser, I have in the kitchen set up to use. My most used tools on the top with my non-stick and magnetic mats. Yes, that is a fit ball and I use it to sit on while crafting,  as it helps my back. My Raskog fits nicely in between the desk and bar unit. This has all my inks, paints, stamping stuff, with my magnetic tins on the side holding buttons, clips etc.

window 2

On my desk top, I have the items I use the most. This wire kitchen rack I have used for a few different things but for now, it holds my spice jars with embellishments, watercolour pencils, twine, tapes, stamp cleaner etc. I have my two tier wire rack on the left with heavier tools like my crop-o-dile, scissors, stapler, etc. On the right is my Daily Journal that I write on each day and my jar of brushes.

desk 1

I have used my up-cycled bar, on the wall directly behind my large desk, which holds my stamps and stickers, stencils and masks, 6×6 paper pads, punches, scrapbook kits and other bits and pieces. On the top shelf, there are two cube units. The top shelf has a couple of boxes with mixed media stuff, a wire basket with smaller stickers, the tin which was mums; I kept and it has flowers in it and mums portable CD unit, that I can use when I’m scrapping. The top draw hold photos I am yet to scrap and the second holds other punches. I have lots of room to store my scrap supplies and I can move it around if needed. I mainly use bins and baskets which are easy to find things in.

 wall 2

This is on the right-hand side as you come into the lounge room. I have had the black bookcase forever, and it has been a great source of storage for me. I use it for a lot of the heavier items like albums, idea books, 12×12 pattern papers. In the boxes, I keep mixed media supplies and fabric etc.

wall 3

Next, to the book-case, I have two more cubes with my other Colcraft unit on the top. This gives me options for what I want to store on this unit. The top shelf has some buckets with washi ribbons, twine and tags in them. There are also stamp pads, punches, stamping paper, mini misters and some embellishments. The cubes house, stamps, dies ribbons and trims and my small sewing machine.  The bag on the floor has bulky items like cardboard, 12×12 chipboard, manila folders etc.

shelf

Above is my other shelf unit, which I decided to leave just inside the kitchen door. It has my heavy dies on it plus, with some other supplies that I don’t need often. I also have a few projects I have made sitting on it.

Now, that I am sorted and feel a bit more inspired to craft, I will be getting back into it this week in-between work and everything else 🙂 Maybe I have inspired you to re-arrange your scrap space so it works better for you.

Hope you all have a great week

Kerri x

Leave a Reply

