“Art Journal Background Techniques”

Hi There,

Hope your week is going along ok. I have had the day off today and I have been resting and puddling with my Art Journal which is relaxing. I have wanted to try some different techniques with my paints and sprays and I am ‘getting a bit techy’ . Gotta start Somewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        I just decided to start anywhere in my journal, I could have begun at the start but what fun is that!! 

journal 1

Technique 1 MISTING – I decided on doing a double page and to begin with I just used a few of my Dylusions inks and misted randomly over the pages.

journal 2

Technique 2BRAYER – As I didn’t have a small foam brayer, I just used my palette knife and moved a bit of white paint around on the pages. You can see it has picked up a bit of the Dylusions ink, but that doesn’t matter.

journal 3

Technique 4 Stenciling – I pulled out my one of a few stencils and I used some Texture Paste over it to get the dimension on my pages. I love how it sits up.

journal 5

Technique 5 Collage – You can use just about anything to make a collage on your page; old paper pattern, masking tape, washi tape, magazine images, you name it.  I decided on some plain tissue tape and then I added a bit of Gesso over it.

journal 6

Technique 6 – Stamping – As most of you know I am a mad stamper and you will probably see a lot of it in my journaling. I stamped the flowers in black and the leaves with green paint,  I stamped the butterflies on pattern paper and then coloured them in with pencil and added a bit of Shimmer Pen. It is a little hard to see but their wings are a bit shiny. To finish it I did a free hand border with black pen and a bit of stamped jouranling and a bit of white paint swiped around the edges……………….

I am pretty pleased with my first pages and I have so many ideas I want to get them out of my head and into my journal!

Stay Tuned and Happy Jouranling

Kerri x

 

 

Leave a Reply

