“My New Love”

Hi Girls,

It is ANZAC  day here in Australia. A very important day to remember our lost servicemen and the men and women serving overseas right now. I am working today and I thought I would pop in and tell you about “MY NEW LOVE”   No men or animals involved hehehe!

When you were younger, did you have Pen Pals that you would stay in touch with by writing a letter?  I certainly did and I still love getting letters from a couple of my Aunts. There was no Internet or Mobile phones when my sister and I were growing up.

I really miss the hand written cards and letters that I always received from my Aunts, friends and my Grandmother. I have kept cards written to my mum from hers.

The newest craze at the moment is Pocket Letters! OK, I know you would like to know more…..  Pocket Letters are another fun way of receiving Snail Mail. It is just a new way to send and receive letters.

Basically you use a Football/Baseball Trading Card Sleeve and send it to someone who would like to become your Pocket Pal and swap with you. I buy these pockets from our local newsagency as they always have them for the footy cards!  I have used them a couple of times to do my One Little Word Project and I keep my ATC’s in them in a binder.  It is pretty simple as you just fill all nine of the little pockets with paper, notes, art or whatever, fold the pockets into thirds and mail off to a friend. Once it’s swapped the plastic pocket letter can be put into a 3 ring binder to keep or you can use the items in the letter to create your own projects.

Each pocket will fit an ATC sized piece of card stock or other papers. That means you can use any ATC sized product. Because of the popularity of pocket scrapbooking there are a ton of wonderful products on the market that will fit in these  little pockets. You could start off by cutting 9 pieces of paper to 2.5 inches by 3.5 inches in size and then add layers and embellishments from there. I like using a card stock base, for strength, but up to you.

card

Above is the measurements for the cards you make. You fill the pockets with anything you like;  (stickers, tea bags, a note, washi tape samples, pictures, etc.) A short note or letter is included and tucked into one of the pockets. Then the Pocket Letter is folded up and sent in a standard long size envelope. It’s the perfect way to send and collect letters from other Pocket Letter Pals (ie people who are sending mail in this format) around the world and a convenient way to store them. They fit perfectly in a A4 binder!

pocket

The above Pocket Letter I found on Pinterest HERE

I have made a list below of items you might like to use in your pockets.

  • craft supplies
  • teabags
  • paper clips
  • sequins
  • gift card
  • photos
  • travel ephemera
  • pressed flowers
  • letters
  • die-cuts
  • embellishments
  • post-it notes
  • stickers
  • tags
  • mini art
  • inspirational quotes
  • pocket calendar
  • ATC’s
  • swap cards
  • anything fun or unique!

HERE is a great introduction video if you would like to have a look at it 🙂

This is also another great way to Stash Bust for me this year and to use up more crafty bits that I have. I enjoy making ATC’s and participating in swaps, so this is exactly what I like doing……

If you are an Aussie there is an Australian Group on Face Book which I have joined HERE    I have my first swap partner to get me started, and I’m excited! 🙂

I think if you enjoy making ATC’s, I am sure you will have fun making these, even just for fun and not swapping. I think they will be very addictive.

If anyone, passing through would like do a swap with me, please by all means contact me 🙂 Stay tuned to see what I come up with for my swap!

Happy Creating!

Kerri x

Leave a Reply

