“Budget Friendly Scrapping! – 8.5×11!”

 

Hi Scrappy Friends!

I am working this weekend, but this doesn’t stop me from enjoying some paper therapy in-between the rest of my busy life!  I am looking forward to next week as I am having another week off.  It will be more relaxing, as Jj now has a car and I haven’t got so much running around to do! Oh yeah, and my First Aid course that I have to do again, for my job on Monday 🙂

As most of you have probably read in previous post I am not spending any money on scrapping supplies and I am using my stash!   Continuing on with this , I am sharing with you another way to save money and use your supplies………..

I get in a bit of a creative rut sometimes and I need to have a change of pace,  from my 12×12 pages. When this happens I get some fresh inspiration, to scrap some of the smaller size, that I like to scrap. These are my  8.5 x 11″ size layouts, which are faster to create, use less supplies and are as much fun, if not more than the larger size pages!

I have created quite a few of these layouts over the time I have been scrapping. It’s good to mix things up and experiment with different size pages. I store these in normal 12×12 D ring albums along with my 12×12 layouts and it gives a bit of interest when flicking through them. This size is also good to make an album quickly, of a special occasion, or for any event.  I have also made my own album covers with chipboard and use ring clips to keep them altogether! It is easy to combine pocket pages and a layout together, if you enjoy creating with the Project Life System.  For a Beginner scraper, the smaller space on the page isn’t so overwhelming, as a 12×12 layout.  Being a letter size you can also put your card stock  through your printer and print your journaling directly onto your page, but you also need to use your handwriting! I can still create in ‘my style’ and it is easy to use a 12×12 sketch to make a smaller size layout! I just crop my photos, papers and sketches to work.  Another bonus is your supplies go further and your card stock doesn’t cost as much, plus the page protectors are cheaper!  I don’t have to purchase any card stock as I have a lot left over from my card making.  There are so many page sketches out there also, I use  PINTEREST, PAGEMAPS,  and GOOGLE, where you will find more than you need. There are also heaps of Sketch Blogs out there also……  You can also combine a bit of digital scrapping as there are heaps of free papers and embellishments just waiting for you out in ‘cyber land’ It really is a win win!!!

I have created these three, 8.5 x 11 layouts in the time it took me to probably one 12×12 layout. I didn’t use a sketch or anything, they are my design and I just winged it!

layout 1

“My First Celeb!”  9/52

This was a fun day at the Better Homes and Garden show in Melbourne. I made this layout using some pp, photo mounted on a clear laminate mat and a few embellishments.

layout 2

“Scrap On!”   10/52

This one I created about my friend Amy and I. We met online and realised we didn’t live too far away from each other. We have been friends for quite a while 🙂 This one is on a card stock background. I stamped a little on to it and added a Heidi Swapp Mistable 6×6, plus some washi tape, and a bit of bling.

layout 3

“Secret Handshake”   11/52

These photos are of my youngest son JJ and his Papa. Jj was about 7 here. I wanted to document their close relationship and their secret handshake 🙂 I used some old stash chevron pp, and I managed three photos on this smaller page. By sitting one on top of the other, the top photo can be lifted up and using a small photo highlighted. I stamped a background for a little interest and put the story on a tag that is sitting behind the pp. The fabric letters I misted with some Dylusions ink to match the colours and a bit of ribbon on the tag shows you can pull it out to read.

These were heaps of fun to make and I will definitely be doing more of these this week with a heap of photos I have had printed!

Hope you have managed some scrap time over the weekend!

Have a great night!

Kerri x

One thought on ““Budget Friendly Scrapping! – 8.5×11!”

Leave a Reply

