“6/52 Water Challenge!”

Hi Girls, hope you are having a lovely weekend! I am working this weekend, but have enjoyed some baking and scrappy time today. Had big son here most of the day which was nice and the boys had a great time together! Think I over did the standing today, but very happy with what I cooked 🙂

I started this layout as my 6/52 and decided to have a go at Heather’s March Challenge at Home and Scrapped.  I really am trying to join in more this year with the girls!

The theme water can be so many things. I decided on a photo that I took looking out from Montague Island at Narooma a few years ago. I get sea-sick so it was a dumb idea lol! Getting the photos and having the memories was worth it though!

As I don’t really have much in a beach them in regards to papers or embellishments, I had to use a bit of initiative and think outside the square! Well, that is what a challenge is for!

beach

This was so much fun to create. The photo was a large 5×7 and I didn’t want to over do the page, but still tell the story.  To create this one, I used some Gesso swiped over about the middle of the age and then while it was wet I put some muslin over it to soften the background. It stuck really well to the Gesso and I didn’t have to use glue. I also softened the two bottom sides with a bit more and then I put the photo corners into it. To give the effect of waves, I decided to use some of my Tim Holtz flourish chipboard and I mixed some blue paint, with some Texture paste to alter it. I smeared it all over the pieces and  I then pushed a bit of blue glitter into the paste, here and there to look like sand. I then added a few shells that I had from a beach trip somewhere ages ago, a few die cuts and a bit of twine.

I am really happy that I had a go at this challenge and it made me look at what supplies I had and use them in a different way. I am going well using my stash and finding treasures I had forgotten about.

beach 2

The above photo just gives you a closer look at what I did to the chipboard, and I coloured a bit of bling and added it here and there.

fingers

As you can see I had some messy fun. My texture paste has had it so I will make a new batch 🙂

Hope you have a great weekend Scrapping

Kerri x

Leave a Reply

