“Layout Process 5/52”

Hi Ladies,

I have finished my two altered boxes I was working on and I am filling them now with Inspiration and Recipes!

I have started on layout #5 to catch up on my ’52 Weeks’ and I thought you might be interested in how I put a layout together. 

Step 1 – Firstly, I chose the photo/photos I am going to use. Usually what I do is, use the colours in the photo to choose a card stock for my background and any pattern papers I use. sometimes I might use a sketch for ‘my design‘ but this one is of my own making!

house 2.JPG

This photo above,  is one of our backyard that I took before the house was sold. It has always stayed the same just about, with a veggie patch, fruit trees and roses.  The huge tree in the background is a 80-year-old Walnut tree that has bared fruit since we have lived in the house. The clothes line ( a Hills Hoist), is an Aussie icon!

house 1

Step 3 – This step is where I mat my photo and have a rough idea of where I want to place it on my layout.  I decided to use a piece of corrugated cardboard that I saved from a box to give some texture to the page. I also started to create a bit of a background, on the card stock.

house 3

Step 4 – I love playing with a bit of Mixed Media. I have stamped a weathered wall background in distress ink, then I misted it with water and stamped on vanilla card stock. I have also added a small leaf background stamp to keep the theme of the garden, as well as a little of a leaf pattern paper!   I like using stencils, ink droplets, stamps, watercolour etc, with ink, paints or texture paste.  I usually pick 3-4 pattern papers and play around with them.   Next, I have distressed the papers that I want to look aged. Depending on the type of layout I am creating. The brown paper is Tim Holtz Glassine paper and I just crumpled it and ran the ink pad over it.

 house 4

Step 5 – After I have worked out the placement, I then adhere my papers and  photo down. I then start doing a bit of embellishing. For this photo I used some layers of tags,a little tree charm, plus a bit of twine.  I also stamped the stamp Definition as my Title for the page and used the Dymo tape to add a bit of interest.

house 6

Step 6 – I didn’t want to go overboard with embellishments, so the only extra thing I added was a die cut flower to the top left hand side. I also wanted to have a little bit of journaling on it, which is very important, so I used the Dymo tape again. This was the last day we would be at the house so I wanted to have it documented for my boys.

house 7

I decided I had enough on the layout and I didn’t want to add anything else. The page tells the story of when mum and dad went into care and our family home of 40 years was sold. It is four years on now and it is still weird not ‘going home’ to see mum and dad. It makes me sad and I don’t go past the house very often anymore.

 We all have different ways we scrap and there are no rules to say what order you create your layout.  I hope you have enjoyed my little ‘how to’ and that it might help you with your scrapbooking layout process.

Happy Scrapping

Kerri x

 

Leave a Reply

