” Recipe & Inspiration Journals!”

Hi ladies,

Hope you are all having a great week. I have had a very busy one last week and I am now on a  leave. Feeling I really need this break, as it has been over 12 months! I feel lots of scrapping is going to be done 🙂

I thought you might like to see a OTP project I have started and my process of creating them………

You could use this project for other items eg; for greeting cards, art techniques, as a photo album, for mixed media, pre-cut card bases, to store your photos in order you want to scrap them,  a stamp index, to store your emboss folders, your sticker collection, metal dies, ribbons and trims, stamp storage, to keep ephemera; anything you can think of…………………………..

ON TO MY PROJECT……….Continuing on with my “NO BUY 6 MONTHS” I have been wanting to get my Recipe Binder in order but it’s driving me nuts! I like my recipes well organised and easy to find. I am trying out quite a few new ones on my weight loss journey and I want them all together. I also have family recipes that I am cooking now and they need to be there as well. I have decided to put them on index cards, which I have left over from other projects. They will be laminated to keep them clean when I use them.   I also thought a box would be better than the binder. I am using categories of the specific foods we love!  I am also updating my inspiration folders and making a box for them too.

I have had two photo boxes that have been collecting dust ….. (don’t laugh!).…in the cupboard for ages. I dug them out and decided they would become my Recipe Journal and my Scrapbook Inspiration Journal!  A journal doesn’t have to be a book.   I am making these so they don’t get stuck on my shelf and I use them.  

To begin with…………….STEP 1 –  I Gessoed the outside of the both boxes to seal them. This gives the media you want to use to embellish, like paint, tissue paper or pattern paper a great surface to stick to.

box 2

STEP 2 – I then painted them all over with an acrylic black paint, which will adhere to the Gesso. They are still in pretty good condition and I didn’t have to repair them at all.

box 4

 The idea of the black paint is to highlight the papers I use.  I use a sponge brush to apply my paint as it goes on smooth and there are no brush streaks.

box 5

STEP 3 – Below are the dividers I cut and I have measured the width and depth of one box to work out what size to cut the index cards  and dividers. I just need to trim the cards to 7 x 5″ and I cut chipboard for the dividers at 7 3/8 x 5 1/2″.  I have  inked the edges of the dividers and  covered with pattern paper. I will use pattern papers on some of the cards also as I have photos of some of the dishes I have made.  I want to include these with their recipe. Yep……….. that is the scrap booker in me! I have worked out what Categories I want for my Recipe box and the Inspiration box will have places for sketches, favourite quotes, colour combinations, my projects, techniques, tips, etc.

box 3

I decided I didn’t want much embellishing on the sides or back of the box as most of it won’t be seen. I like the muted tones of the papers for my Recipe Box and will probably go with shabby chic tones for my Inspiration Box. I sponged distress ink around the edges of the papers to highlight the edges.I have used Mod Podge to adhere my pattern papers to the boxes, but you can also use Gel Medium, or make your own with my recipe below!

Home-made Mod Podge Recipe

To make it you need a jar with a lid, 1/3 cup of white glue and 1 cup of water on top. Put lid on jar and shake well to combine. Use with a brush and enjoy ! 

Today, I worked a little bit more on my Recipe Box.

Step 4 – I made the dividers from Chipboard and covered them with some vintage type papers from a couple of 12×12 pads I have had for a while. I used some project life type cards on the front and on each divider to embellish. You can see how the black paint highlights the pattern paper!

recipe 1

Step 5 – To make my divider tabs I punch out large scallop circles from scraps and used my Prima Press Alphabet Stamp Set.   It is a great little set I bought about 12 months ago and it makes it so easy to put words together.

stamp

I just stamped on some Vanilla cards stock, inked the edges and adhered to the scallops.

cook

Step 6 – Finish embellishing your journal to your taste and add your cards or card stock you will use to journal on.

I am very happy with the way my Recipe Journal is working out. I have a little bit to do yet but I will show you the finished project during the week. I am up to making the dividers for my Inspiration Journal also. I also am working on my another little memory scrap project and I will share that with you soon also!

I hope you have some crafting time this week. I certainly plan on quite a bit!

Kerri x

Leave a Reply

