“January New Beginnings Challenge”!

G’day Everyone, I hope you are having a lovely start to your week.

I HAVE RECENTLY JOINED A LOVELY FACEBOOK GROUP CALLED BASH YOUR SCRAPBOOK STASH.  FOR ALL OF US THAT NEED TO DO THIS, THIS GROUP IS THE ONE TO BE PART OF.  I HAVE BEEN ASKED BY THE LOVELY GINA K-m AND MARCIE NEEL WYATT TO CREATE A CHALLENGE!

VERY EXCITED I MUST SAY!!!!!!

YOU CAN FIND OUR LOVELY GROUP HERE

HI LADIES AND WELCOME TO MY JANUARY CHALLENGE!!

My name is Kerri Smith and I live in Australia. As the theme for this month is “New Beginnings” I thought you might like to make something to hang in your craft space and inspire you throughout 2017!

My Project for you is an Altered Art Project, so I hope you will like the one I have to show you!

OK, LETS GET STARTED………..

We are going to make an Altered Clip Board together. You can find these at your local newsagent, cheap shops, K Mart etc. I like to use the ones with the large old-looking clips, not the thin ones, but that is up to you.

The first thing you might like to do,  is put a little kit of supplies together, to follow along with my instructions. You will  first need to decide what colours that you would like to use.  Then, decide what you would like to use your board for?  As an area to write notes and thoughts about your New Beginning this year Bashing your Stash, or maybe you have a Quote, Word, Photo or Ephemera that you want to use to inspire you throughout 2017! I am going for a word as I am joining in on Ali Edwards One Little word Challenge again this year, and my word is CREATE!

blog-1

For my kit above I have chosen to include a few 4×6 pattern papers, ribbon, washi tape, buttons, Tags, metal embellishments, chipboard, an alphabet to make my word, You may only use some of these items but you may find yourself using quite a few of them. It doesn’t matter as there are no set rules to creating and you are also using your stash.

OK, NOW ONTO THE BOARD ITSELF…….

The supplies you will need to create your board are:    Modge Podge, gel Medium or watered down white glue,  a paint brush or foam brush, paint in a colour you want or pattern papers, scissors or a cutting knife and a non-stick mat if you have one

blog-2

STEP #1    Firstly decided if you want to paint or where you want your pattern papers to be on your board. Using your adhesive, stick the papers down to your board and over lap and let them hang over the edge.

blog-3

STEP # 2   – Next with your cutting knife or scissors turn board over and trim the excess off. I gently, then I sanded the edges then used a distress ink pad around the edges. You can do this if you like.

blog-4

STEP #3 –   If you wish now you could add some stamping or masking to the board . I used Black Archival ink and stamped a bit here and there. I also added a bit of old sewing pattern, some images from a napkin and a bit of misted paper doily to give it some character. It is up to you how much you want to put on it. blog-5

STEP #4 – This is the fun part. Get out your kit of flowers, ribbons etc and have fun. I played around with my board until I had it looking the way I like it then I adhered everything down. I do not measure anything I eyeball everything. Life is too short lol!

I added some more flowers and seam binding  from my stash which I coloured with spray inks.  I also added a few metal embellishments, like the bird-cage and a few things on the clip itself. I will see it everyday and know this is what I want to achieve this year. Less time on my devices and more time to CREATE!

  

I am really happy with my Altered Board and I am going to make another one in a couple of weeks to add to my scrap space wall. I hope you have enjoyed my little tutorial and you can understand my instructions. If you have any problems please feel to ask me 🙂

Happy Stamping

Kerri x

 

Leave a Reply

