“Starting Your Creative Journey!”

Hi Everyone,

If you have decided you want to STAMP, SCRAPBOOK or MAKE CARDS it can be very confusing to start. There are sooo many PRODUCTS available and I can make it EASIER for you to WORK OUT what you need to get STARTED.  When I started Scrapbooking 17 YEARS ago, there was NOT A LOT of stores around, so I bought mainly ONLINE.

I decided to JOIN an online direct selling company called STAMPIN’ UP! which you may have heard of. I did this to HELP my family and friends get STARTED, and to TEACH  customers, through workshops  how to scrapbook, stamp and make cards. They LOVED the PRODUCTS and the EASE of PURCHASING with me.  I had to take a BREAK from it for a while as work and family became busier.

I am very HAPPY to say I have RE-JOINED this wonderful company AGAIN, as I still love their products and I want to again SHARE it with YOU too. If you didn’t know I am a MAD STAMPER and this company provides me with all my supplies I need.  I can be a ‘HOBBY DEMO’ in between my JOB in DISABILITY and other commitments. There is NO PRESSURE on me to SELL, and I just meet my MONTHLY minimums to stay a Demo. The BEST part is, besides all their AWESOME products is that, I earn a MINIMUM of 20% of my supplies.

basic

You can START STAMPING with a few BASIC SUPPLIES as I did when I started Scrapbooking. I then ADDED to my STASH, as I could.  I started scrapbooking FIRST and I had accumulated a fair FEW supplies, so when I dived into STAMPING, I just needed to add a few extra pieces. Once you get a TASTE of this craft you wont STOP! 

STAMPIN’ UP! make it EASY for you, as their products are all COLOUR co-ordinated into FOUR colour families.  Your ink pads, DSP (Designer Series Paper), card stock and embellishments all match.

YOU CAN START CREATING BEAUTIFUL STAMPED PROJECTS WITH 5 BASIC SUPPLIES!

#1 – STAMPS – If you choose a stamp set that can be used for a few different projects; like making cards, gifts and scrapbooking and/or a few occasions like Wedding, Baby and Birthday for example, plus you love the set, you can’t go wrong. It means you will come back and use the set again and again. I still have a few much-loved sets that I can’t part with, as they are very versatile sets.

#2 – INK – A good black ink like Stazon Jet black is a must in every stampers stash. This ink can be used for a few things as it is a Permanent ink and it wont fade or bleed if using for water colouring. I love this technique in my scrapbooking also so it is a staple for me! Another good choice when starting out is a Neutral colour like Early Espresso or Chocolate chip. These are dye based inks that dry fast and are water-soluble for lots of techniques. You can then add more colours as you go 🙂

#3 – PAPER – Select a packet of card stock in one colour family is a great way to get a few colours together. Then you can use those colours to get a matching pack of DSP (pattern paper).  This gives you more colours/patterns to select from and more ways to use it. Our DSP is double-sided to give you just that.

#4 – CUTTING TOOL – You will need a good pair of scissors; paper scissors and one for ribbon and twine. I use our Paper Snips and separate pairs so they stay sharp. I have a piece of ribbon tied to the handle of my ribbon Snips so they dont get mixed up 🙂 For a professional look, you will want to invest in a table top Paper Trimmer. They are a must for cutting and measuring your projects. PUNCHES & DIES are a great alternative also you might like to add to your supplies also. These are great for cutting out stamped images. A number of our SU punches nest inside each other for a layered look.

#5 – ADHESIVE – As unexciting as it is it is a much-needed supply for putting our projects together. I mainly use Snail Adhesive or double Sided tape for attaching my photos to my papers, Tombo and Glue dots for embellishments. Just remember wet glues need drying time. To add dimension to my card elements like a tag I use foam dimensionals which are raised double-sided dots.

Something extra if within your budget is #6 – EMBELLISHMENTS – These can add the wow factor or something that finishes off your project. These can be Rhinestones, Pearls, Brads, Buttons, and Glitter. Neutral colours can be a good asset and plain white,clear or cream Bling. You may already have some on hand, but our SU embellishments will blend with your other supplies. Choose embellishments that you like and will be a great addition to your projects. Add to your stash as you can or for that ‘special project’ you are working on.

THIS IS JUST A GLIMPSE OF WHAT IS AVAILABLE TO YOU, TO HELP YOU ON YOUR STAMPING JOURNEY.  You now need to decide what  type of projects you enjoy creating and build from that…………

A HOBBY SHOULD BE SOMETHING YOU ENJOY AND NOT SOMETHING YOU STRESS ABOUT THE COST OF!  Order what your budget allows and soon you will have a lovely stash of goodies to use.

I know this has been a bit of a long post, but I wanted to make sure you knew how to get started and not blow the budget!

If you are interested in a SU Catalogue, Hosting a workshop to get some FREE products or you would like to become a Demo in my team please visit my SU website here; http://www.stampinup.net/esuite/home/simplystampn/

Please feel free to contact me if there is anything I can help you with at all 🙂

Happy Stamping

Kerri x

Leave a Reply

